Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Trainer road.com [trihugger] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
trihugger wrote:
Hi All,
(apologies for double-posting)

your help is appreciated.

I managed to get my Quarq to control my Kickr on ERG mode in TrainerRoad. It's my first time doing this and I'm not sure that this how it's supposed to work. Power was fluctuating to much for my taste, althoug around the target power. Picture is attached below.

Can you please confirm that this how it's supposed to work or help me point to where the problem could be?

Thanks,
T

That's just the nature of power meters and humans not being machines. That's actually how your power is being applied to the pedals. Overtime, you can become more smooth. In the meantime, you could turn on power smoothing so that you can get more smooth output.

CEO at TrainerRoad
Co-host of the Ask a Cycling Coach Podcast
Quote Reply
Re: Trainer road.com [cobra_kai] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
cobra_kai wrote:
I have seen similar issues with cadence changes. If I'm doing an interval and I go from seated to standing I usually see a drop in cadence on the order of 20 RPM. This seems to cause a lot of issues in the software. Either it can't increase resistance enough to hit the targets at the lower cadence, or when I sit back down and increase the cadence back up I see a big spike in resistance. It seems to have particular trouble at higher powers. I am wondering if there is some logic that limits the offset that can be applied when using powermatch? I am using a tacx vortex with a power2max controlling it and 5 second power averaging.

Here is an example of the trainer not increasing power while standing - see the first two intervals. The second two I did not stand and there were no issues.

Here is one where the power did not increase enough when standing and then didn't decrease when I sat back down - see the dip in power and then subsequent spike in the second higher intensity interval.