Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Aero sensors for dummies thread [marcag] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
marcag wrote:
MTM wrote:
If it's pure crosswind Notio should theoretically measure zero wind (air speed = ground speed) as it's not measuring crosswind/yaw.

If yaw is high enough (probably north of 15 degrees or something like that) the pitot might not measure the wind speed correctly depending on stall/stagnation characteristics of the tip design. I'm not sure Notio has published anything about when exactly measurements start to be off (by let's say 1+%) in their tip design.

Do you know if any of the manufacturers publish this or make claims on how they handle this ?

I don't know. I haven't seen anything stated, but haven't looked specifically for it either. I'm no expert in pitot tube tip design, but know it has an impact and have seen the effects in outside testing. In general I haven't seen many exact specs published for the different sensors - like accuracy of air speed, yaw angle, elevation, etc., and within which boundaries it works and doesn't.
Quote Reply
Re: Aero sensors for dummies thread [MTM] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
MTM wrote:
In general I haven't seen many exact specs published for the different sensors - like accuracy of air speed, yaw angle, elevation, etc., and within which boundaries it works and doesn't.

It is surprising how little data has been published. I wish the manufacturers would publish more but I see why they are reluctant.

But really surprises me is how little data users publish. It's almost like they are overwhelmed by the data and don't know how to interpret it.
Quote Reply
Re: Aero sensors for dummies thread [burnthesheep] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply

For those that have never listened, this is Josh Poertner's podcast called Marginal gains.

Latest episode has another podcaster (from Endurance Innovation) and the topic is aerometers.