Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Calf muscle pull or tear? Experience?....
Quote | Reply
I'm 41, been active and athletic my whole life. Many broken bones, knee surgeries, etc..

I don't think I've ever really torn/tore a muscle.

Question...

on a six mile run, right at the halfway point, my left calf totally seized up. I was able to hobble home. Stretching did not improve the "knot" feeling. It didn't feel like a cramp.

Next day? I have a big circular bruise on my calf. Right in the rear/center. I'm walking but it's tender, injury was two weeks ago.

does this sound like a mild tear? I have no experience with tears, just strains and breaks.

Bruise is still there two weeks later, about the size of a baseball.

Seems a little strange.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"That night I had a dream. I dreamt I was as light as the ether."
Quote Reply
Re: Calf muscle pull or tear? Experience?.... [Tiki] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
no idea, but if you figure it out please let me know. I had the exact same symptoms after I pedaled through a cramp and then went as hard as I could to bridge up to an attack. I haven't been right for 2 months now.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
welcome to middle age, and mad calf disease.

Dan Empfield
aka Slowman
Quote Reply
Re: Calf muscle pull or tear? Experience?.... [Slowman] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I was waiting for you to post that ...

;-)

Quote | Reply
Does your calf look like this>?

Probably a minor tear and not a major tear. Rest, Ice, light stretching and phyisio will fix you up in no time, .....me, I'm still dealing with my tore calf 2 years later. :(

Ps. I hear pickel juice will help with mid run cramping.
Last edited by: jgp: Jun 21, 10 17:59
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I needed a bunch of ART treatments to finally beat mine (somewhat) into submission. It was semi-chronic, came back the last 2 seasons.