Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Calling EVERYONE To Action! [Rappstar] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Jordan, this story inspired me to actually log-in, join and post versus just being a casual reader. I'm an attorney and used to be a prosecutor. The actions of the DA in Vail are indefensible. But the best way we can respond is to do exactly what you and the other ST'ers are doing: inundate the DA with calls, emails and negative press and shame the offender and call his actions out to his employer. Many of us probably deal with Morgan Stanley -my employer has its stock plan with them - and we should use all the leverage we have. There was another similar case recently in San Antonio which I've linked here. http://www.mysanantonio.com/...eaths_104130179.html There, the driver killed a husband and wife, leaving a child with no parents. The driver was charged with a Felony and faces up to 10 years in prison. Also, the argument made by the DA in Vail about restitution is bunk - I have prosecuted numerous defendants who, as part of their sentence, are required to pay restitution. It is not "double jeopardy." And then the victim can still sue the offender in civil court (remember the OJ case)? The victim is incredibly lucky here that the offender is probably wealthy, and probably has a lot of insurance. Thanks again for raising the profile of this story!

It is the mind itself which builds the body.
-Joseph Pilates
Last edited by: DougEFresh: Nov 8, 10 17:22
Quote Reply
Re: Calling EVERYONE To Action! [angryasian] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
James- Thanks for posting. The governor is an avid biker so hopefully he wll have some sympathy.
Quote Reply
Re: Calling Vail Residents [Bell Head] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply