Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Trainer road.com [vistacruiser] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
vistacruiser wrote:
Bryce -

I'm new to TrainerRoad and liking it so far. I'm doing Florida 70.3 in April and I'm currently 12 weeks out. I jumped into TrainerRoad with 16 weeks till my race. I just wrapped 4 weeks of half distance, mid-volume base and as of this week jumped into half distance, mid-volume build. My plan is to complete first 4 weeks of build and complete the last 8 weeks in mid-volume specialty. Is this the right approach? Open to any suggestions.

Got another question for you or anyone else reading this - I'm headed to Aspen, CO next week for work. I currently live in CT. Planning out my training while away. Should I be concerned with altitude? I wont have access to a bike and a trainer, let alone trainerroad while im away (unless anyone in aspen has one) should i just get on a stationary bike and ride? Is that better than nothing? Just came off an easy week.

Thanks.
- Joe

Hey Joe!

In this case, I would not recommend skipping the last 4 weeks of Build. In general, we recommend working from the ground up, and getting as much of the plan done as you can without skipping steps.

Go ahead and check out this article in our newly redesigned Coaching Help Center, it goes into specifics on how to plan your season with sub-optimal amounts of time :)
Not enough time!

As for your question regarding the elevation, this is not a big concern, especially since you won't be training with power. At elevation, it is normal for your power output to drop a bit, and you would need to adjust the workout intensity down a few percent. Since you will be training by RPE for the most part, you should be good to go.