Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
keto and endurance racing
Quote | Reply
Hi team
I have been a long distance runner on and off for ages, I've been eating keto now for 3 months and have just started an 16 month training for Ironman 2021.
I know in theory keto is brilliant for endurance etc, but what's it like in practice? I'd love to hear from anybody who has been training in keto, what they use to fuel, how (if at all) do they pre-load and what do you do raceday?
Thanks heaps
Charlotte
Quote Reply
Re: keto and endurance racing [Kiwi Spud] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Kiwi Spud wrote:
I know in theory keto is brilliant for endurance etc,
Charlotte

I'm not sure you know the definition of "know".

-------------
Ed O'Malley
www.VeloVetta.com
Founder of VeloVetta Cycling Shoes
Instagram • Facebook
Quote Reply
Re: keto and endurance racing [RowToTri] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
are you serious? Sorry if I should have wrote I believe in theory, I've read in theory.... Pretty sure you have an understanding of my question, sorry if I confused you.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm not 'keto' but high fat low carb so similar but I am not scared of carbs to eat in general or racing but generally during or after training sessions. I often do my morning training session just on a fat black or bulletproof coffee whatever you want to call it. As training and racing fuel I have been using Generation Ucan. It works and I like you don't get the same peaks and troughs as you do on sugar but it doesn't mix well with water and can be a pain in the arse. For the run I go to Vfuel gels that contain MCT oil. At some stage I will turn to coke in IM but that is generally where I feel like it on the course. I always carry bananas training on the bike as well.