Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Lets put the weight training debate in the grave [smugfit] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
The problem with your analogy of going from 5:30 to 5 min mile is that the example you are using is already an "aerobic example". See Klehner's example of Chris Boardman in the 4000m pursuit. If you're good at the 4000m pursuit, you're gonna be good at the hour record and if your mile time is good, making it better will improve your 10K. When you bring weights into the equation it's more like saying. "My mile time is 5:30 minutes and my 100m time is 12 seconds". I've been working on my 100m for 3 years and got it down to 11 flat. Guess what, your mile time just went from 5:30 to 5:29 (or so).

That's why doing weights in short bursts that last 30 seconds at best won't really do much for endurance performance, just like all out sprinting likely won't do much , other than at the end of an ITU world cup sprint finish where you might need to wind it up for the final 200m to get a gold vs silver medal. That's what the anti weight training crowd has been arguing and I have no qualms with that.