Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: pandemic: has anyone just stopped training? [davetallo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Definitely not! I'm a teacher and my school, as well as those of my kids and my wife (also a teacher), is closed for at least the next two weeks. In all likelihood the gym where I swim will close, but I plan on training probably even more than I've been doing (now that I don't have work for the next 2+ weeks). I'll definitely use my swim bands quite a bit to try hanging on to swim fitness, and will probably turn my swim 'time' into more run and bike volume.

Blog: http://262toboylstonstreet.blogspot.com/
https://twitter.com/NateThomasTri
Coaching: https://bybtricoaching.com/ - accepting athletes for 2023
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I certainly felt low and felt like throwing in the towel.
That said, I went for a trail run away from everything and it sparked a small desire to return...
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I have been doing about the same as always.

But, starting Monday, the pool will be closed until at least April 6th. So no swim training for a few weeks. I'll probably do more on the bike, for the fun of it if nothing else.

"Human existence is based upon two pillars: Compassion and knowledge. Compassion without knowledge is ineffective; Knowledge without compassion is inhuman." Victor Weisskopf.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
davetallo wrote:
I know you're all studs who run 101/100, and each and every one of you live deep and suck out all the marrow of life. We get it.

But honestly ā€¦ how many of us just kinda said "ah, screw it" and called it in over the last few days?

haha.....The stupid 100/100 ends and I was going to go back on a big swim build and start some more riding and now the city closed all public facilities till April 5th so that parents don't take their kids there during the school shutdown.

So my plan to back off on the running and swim a ton is toast.