Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Tri vs golf
Quote | Reply
As I reflect on my first year in the Triathlon game - a question I get a lot is "where do you find the time and money to do Triathlons?" I have an easy answer - I don't play golf much anymore.

I like to keep track of my expenses using MS Money. When I started training for my first race I set-up an expense category to track what I spent. Now that's it's the end of the year, I have been reviewing all my expenses to set-up my budget for next year. This is what I found. Compared to Golf - Triathlons are dirt cheap.

A review of the numbers.

Golf in 2003 (I used 2003 since I did not play much in 2004)

Equipment. Balls, gloves, tee's, etc, nothing major like new irons or diver $370
Greens fees (I played 25 rounds) $1573
Range & lessons $250
Drinks&Food at the course. I estimated $15 per round for 25 rounds $375
Total $2568

Triathlon in 2004

Entry Fee's. I did two races $130
Travel to races $220
Equipment. New running shoes, bike tune up and parts, other small stuff $320
Heath Club and Masters swim class (for the year) $800
Miscellaneous $130
Total $1600

I have not made any 'Major' equipment purchases yet - such as a new bike or wet suit. But they are comparable in price to a new set of clubs. Hell, putters are going for $250 these days.

Cost - winner Tri.

As for time - an 18 hole weekend round of golf takes on average 6 hours to drive to the course, play, and get back home. Add in time spent at the range and lessons and the long rides and runs don't seem very long.

Time - winner Tri.

For the intangibles.... I'm in much better heath now (180 lbs vs 225 lbs). Triathletes are a more fun to be around the golfers. I spend more time with my wife and kids.

Intangibles - winner Tri.

Triathlon - easy winner over golf. But I must admit - there is a rush you get when you hit the ball just right - that I have yet to find in Triathlons.
Quote Reply