Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: To all you 'parts upgrade' bike folks - are you doing your own bike work? or LBS? [lightheir] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Ive done all my own wrenching for as long as I can remember (.....~30 years).
I am not an engineer nor a mechanic, I'm an IT Systems Analyst.
I've built up a decent collection of bike tools over the years, and I just started a project to build myself a custom tool kit using a Nanuk 935 case and Kaizen foam inserts...

Compared to having my LBS do work:

1. If I do it myself, I know its done right, everything is tight, torqued right, etc. And if I can't get it right, -then- I take it to LBS.
2. Saves a lot of time of not having to drive to LBS, leave bike for a week, drive back to pick it up.
3. Saves a lot of money. I did have to have the brake cables re-done on a Speed Concept recently - normally something I could handle, but for some reason I just could not get them to work smoothly, so I just said f*ck it and took it in. It cost me about $150.....(and a week)... :(

One last thing I should note - I actually enjoy working on my own bikes, so that makes a big difference too.
Quote Reply
Re: To all you 'parts upgrade' bike folks - are you doing your own bike work? or LBS? [SBRcanuck] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
SBRcanuck wrote:
I've built up a decent collection of bike tools over the years, and I just started a project to build myself a custom tool kit using a Nanuk 935 case and Kaizen foam inserts...

1. If I do it myself, I know its done right, everything is tight, torqued right, etc. And if I can't get it right, -then- I take it to LBS.

I hate to admit it, but I'm like the WORST bike mechanic. Even on stuff I've done several times before!

I've messed up so many easy repairs and installs in ways that one would only dream of and STILL not come up with the amount of stupid required to do it....