Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Matthew Sharpe and "ZipperGate" [Xath10] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Of course the issue with nonsense rules like this is that they can be used offensively against targeted people. I'm not implying that's what happened here, but officials in a sport as marginal as triathlon can be bought, or more likely just help out their friends. It's sort of like the old adage "we'll make everything illegal, then only arrest the people we want".
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I was on the course that day. I ran about 3 hours slower than Matt Sharpe. Around mile 11.5 I saw two guys running the other way (I think it's mile 9 and change) they were completely shirtless. I have been doing this for 10 years and this is the first time I can remember seeing this. I wonder if they were disqualified.

When I got near the finish about mile 13 a volunteer was standing there telling everyone to zip up. My zipper was above the chest strap but I zipped up the rest of the way.
Quote Reply
Re: Matthew Sharpe and "ZipperGate" [dcfan40] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
dcfan40 wrote:
When I got near the finish about mile 13 a volunteer was standing there telling everyone to zip up. My zipper was above the

Zipper Police has to be pretty low on the volunteer jobs status list. Stand there and get eye-rolled at for like 4 hours. :) But still above Porta-potty Toilet Paper Replenisher.
Quote Reply
Re: Matthew Sharpe and "ZipperGate" [dcfan40] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I canā€™t help but remember LA at Superfrog Tri racing in Speedoā€™sā€¦
Quote Reply
Re: Matthew Sharpe and "ZipperGate" [skid777] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Every professional sport has attire rules and while they may be a PITA they will continue to exist. And in this case itā€™s mostly entirely about the advertising and sponsorsā€¦ and frankly thatā€™s OK.