Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: IMTX - AG Men interfering with Female Pros on the bike [swimcyclesprint] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I am also not Erin, but I am a FOP female who is very strong on the bike and placed in my AG at IMTX on Saturday. I've been racing for over 10 years, and some of the behavior I have experienced from men is something that I have never seen from another woman. I'm not blaming all men. I had a wonderful guy tell me over and over how strong I was biking on Saturday and giving me tons of encouragement. But. I was also passed by multiple groups of men passing me on both sides with no warning. I was yelled at by a guy (in a draft pack) because they re-passed me shortly after I passed them because they never dropped back to a legal distance out of my draft zone. I could write so many more examples from other races. Sadly - this happens to me at EVERY major race I do.

I don't have an answer on how to fix it. I wish I did. I think the behavior is incredibly unnecessary and it make zero sense for such aggression and behavior when we're all out there trying to accomplish the same thing.
Quote Reply
Re: IMTX - AG Men interfering with Female Pros on the bike [Pookspolo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
It would help if Ironman started handing out more penalties to these packs. The moto riders will ride behind them but almost never give out a penalty even if it is packs of blatant drafters. That is what I heard about at IMTX and saw first hand at Oceanside. And of course the packs will destroy people trying to ride fairly even more on a windy day/course.

That would help men and women. Ironman have shown they don't care, and many racers are also fine with it unfortunately.
Quote Reply
Re: IMTX - AG Men interfering with Female Pros on the bike [pier87] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
He isn't going Pro. He is 38 and has no desire to go Pro.
Quote Reply