Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Is the swim ruining my run?
Quote | Reply
Hi all, there seem to be some experienced and knowledgeable athletes on this forum. So maybe some of you guys can have a go at my problem.

I'm just starting out in triathlon, but am a relatively experienced runner (about 30k-40k a week) compared to biking and especially swimming. I did a short distance last year in august, and I just did a sprint triathlon last week. 37 years old by the way.

Long story short, in both races I got nowhere near to my running potential. Based on my brick-training efforts, I kind of assumed last year that I would be able to run at at around 110% compared to my 10k PB pace (43:30 at the time). I disappointingly finished the run in 55 minutes, after slowly fading in the last bike section and feeling completely out of energy for the entire run, needing a couple of walk brakes just to make it to the finish. I assumed it to be a nutritional issue. I consumed one single gel, which was not before T2 as I forgot to take it with me on the bike. Maybe drank a bit too little as well (about 400ml, with a SIS hydro Go tablet). Total time: 2h20m.

In preparation for the sprint race last weekend I did some extra bike-run brick workouts to get a feel of the appropriate pacing. Biking hard for 20-25k, then a tempo run just about approaching the red line at about 4k. Most of these sessions I could keep a 4:10/k running pace after a 36.5km/h ride. So I figured that would be a good baseline for the race.