Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Ironman & College -- Good or Bad Idea?
Quote | Reply
Hi all,

I've been a long-time ST reader, and this is my first significant post. There's a ton of great insight on this forum so I thought I'd write about a situation I've been facing lately.

I'm 20 years old and in college. I played golf in college for my first two years (I'm in my third year now), and I quit the team this year for two reasons: 1) I basically got burnt out. I was pretty intense about golf for a while and I played competitively for 10 years solid, and I just didn't have the passion for it any longer; 2) because I really enjoyed triathlon in my first season (2003) and I focused on that more than golf during my second year in college, and I had to decide which to pursue, golf or triathlon. I chose triathlon.

This summer was my second year in triathlon, and I completed my first 1/2 IM in 5:28, a time I'm really happy with. I had a total blast and I knew I wanted to "go long" -- that is, race an Ironman. So, I signed up for Ironman Wisconsin 2005! Lately, though, I've been having doubts about my decision to pursue Ironman. The reason for this doubt is because I played golf over Thanksgiving break for the first time in ~3 months and had an absolute blast. I played a week later with my best friend and had even more fun. I'm basically having a renewed passion for golf again.

So lately I've been realizing that: 1) I short-changed my potential by quitting golf, as I didn't get as good as I could and contribute to the team well enough; 2) collegiate athletics is a unique opportunity, as I can only do it while in college (duh!); and 3) tied into the previous reason, Ironman is not going anywhere, and I could be better served by waiting to do Ironman after I graduate from college and give golf another go, if that's where my heart leads me.