Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Ironman 140.6 in NYC [Ultra-tri-guy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Ultra-tri-guy wrote:
Remember,these days "an Ironman race"means anything from an
Olymipc distance to a 70.3 to what we used to call " an Ironman" ...

Maybe by the time the race is comfirmed Ironman will have started hosting sprint distance Ironmans as well..

-----------

Where is this true? (other than in ST forum lore)
Quote Reply
Re: Ironman 140.6 in NYC [gboulouk] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Isn't the Hudson River kind of a cess pool that makes the Ohio River for IMKY look like swimming in Evian?
Quote Reply
Re: Ironman 140.6 in NYC [bmanners] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Few things.

1) I think someone up top suggested having T1 in NJ and T2 in Manhattan. I am not a logistics expert, but if someone can pull that off for an Ironman, I give them a cookie.
2) I would be completely shocked if they were to cross the GW bridge in any way or form. No way. Not happening.
3) The swim is the easy part - if you dont consider the currents that want to suck you out to the Atlantic. Opps.
4) The bike will be brutal. No way they can stay on Manhattan for the bike.

Options
1) East to long island
2) Up to Westchester and up near Poughkepsie,
3) West to NJ.

However:
1) Very tough to get through Queens/Brooklyn. Doable, but tough. Main avenues cant be closed to traffic all day.
2) Go through the bronx? Really? Once past that, it could be doable...again..closing roads for more than 5-6 hours...very tough 3) Very tough

5) Run portion. Two loops of 13 miles?...I thought the circle for central park was something like 6-8 miles. 3 laps of Central Park. eck.

I would be very interested to see this course. Would venture to guess. cross roads would need to remain open on the course. The course would have to move away from the city in some fashion, but most likely loops would need to be included.

nevertheless, people will do it.