Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Dave Mirra Takes on IMLP Today! Make That IMMT! [Stevie G] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I was referring to
" Endurance is strictly limited by the availability of glycogen in the liver and working muscles. When these stores fall too low, your day is done. Endurance training greatly increases the body’s capacity for glycogen storage. But even the fittest triathlete cannot store enough glycogen to fuel an entire Ironman. Thankfully, training also greatly increases the capacity to burn fats, which allows the athlete to conserve glycogen, making it last longer."

My assumption is that most (very fit) age groupers hit that mark at 7 hours
Based on the the stream today Jordan Rap hit this mark at 7.5 hours
Dave may be hitting it even earlier, towards the end of the bike, and running on empty a.sucks but even then you have to learn how to run 8min miles on empty.

This is just my opinion. I'm no doctor, coach, ...

side note: There was a Mark Allen article on this very topic: The fact that this is bound to happen for even the most elite triathletes, and our body being limited to taking in 250-350 calories max per hour at this exertion is why we've probably seen the limit of how fast the body can travel the 140.6 miles. unless you figure out how to consume more nutrition to offset that glycogen depletion.
Quote Reply
Re: Dave Mirra Takes on IMLP Today! Make That IMMT! [Bryancd] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
But you ARE following this thread! :)

If he sticks with it he has a good chance. It may not look like it now, but there is potential. He's gonna figure it out. Just my opinion.

Cheers,

thechromedome
http://www.favoritefinishlines.blogspot.com
http://www.cupcakecartel.org
My 20% off code for 2018 FS Series races: tricred18
"there are no drafters in heaven" - C Bonner
Quote Reply
Re: Dave Mirra Takes on IMLP Today! Make That IMMT! [thechromedome] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply