Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Crowie spotted with a P4 in Las Vegas [kev train] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply

Quote:
I think the most fundamental issue here is how to assign what is "good faith" and what is not.

I'm not a lawyer, so my main question is why isn't each contract clause treated equally? That is, why even discuss "green light" or "red light" or "yellow light" or some blurred combination thereof for each clause.

I would argue that each clause set forth within a contract has with it an assigned marginal utility-type operator. Kinda like If...then statements. They exist on both sides and apply to both parties. Thereby, each action is met with an appropriate, and agreed-upon, reaction.

It doesn't work that way in practice b/c a contract cannot account for every contingency. In addition, many contracts do not contain damages clauses. So, it isn't as simple as saying, "if you do X you get Y" and "if you do not to x you have to pay Z."

In a breach of contract case, the offended party is entitled to be put back into the position in which they would be in had the breach not occurred. Sometimes that means the court orders "specific performance" which means the other party is ordered to perform per the contract. However, that is rare, often times b/c it is not possible. So, in most breach cases, the court assigns a dollar value as a "make whole remedy."

It gets quite difficult. Let me give you a common issue I face:

Employee A works for Company X and has a contract with X. Company Y goes after Employee A, gets Employee A to leave Company X, and gets Employee A to work for Company Y. In this case, Company X may have a claim against Employee A for breach of contract and Company Y for tortious interference with a contract. But, how do you assess the damages? If Employee A is a great employee and makes life easy for his/her boss, how do you assign a value to that?