Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Critique my bike fit - Feb 13, 2021
Quote | Reply
Hi All,

Any critique on my current fit would be appreciated. My bike is a 2012 Giant Trinity Composite II, size medium with 165mm cranks. I am 5'10 with a long torso and short legs. I have gotten to this TT position after some *MAJOR* adjustments and have yet to ride it off the trainer since making these adjustments. The major adjustments included raising my seat and moving it forward and lifting my front end and sliding the elbow cups forward as well (all to open up my hip angle for comfort). My only concern is that the frame does not have enough reach and handling/steering may be an issue off the trainer and onto the road. Overall, it is comfortable as is on the trainer. Future adjustments may include dropping the front end to get more aggressive, but I would need a new stem for this. I'm new to biking and triathlon. (Ignore the clicking sounds as these only started occurring since moving the trainer for the videos. I also recognize I could have been more strict on maintaining consistent form)

All criticisms are welcome!

Angle 1

Angle 2

Thanks!

CurrJam
Last edited by: CurrJam: Feb 13, 21 20:45
Quote Reply
Re: Critique my bike fit - Feb 13, 2021 [CurrJam] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Why would you need a new stem to lower the front end?
Quote Reply
Re: Critique my bike fit - Feb 13, 2021 [jimatbeyond] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Hi Jimatbeyond,

The stem spacer-rings are all above the stem, therefore it is at it's lowest setting and as such I cannot remove them to lower the front end. The only option would be to turn the stem upside down and add in the 1.5 inches of spacers, but given the angle of the stem I think this would result in too much of a decrease in front-end height. I'm uncertain what the net decrease in height of doing this would be.