Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

pilates guide recommendation?
Quote | Reply
Hi all,

Can anyone recommend a good program/book of pilates for triathletes?

I can't really find anything specific that would be best for all three sports. Maybe nothing is that specific, but my spine doc tells me I need to start doing pilates. I do some core stuff already, but I guess I will add/switch to pilates.

Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: pilates guide recommendation? [michaer27] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
do it Pilates with a professional, not online or with book, you can hurt yourself doing.
Professional, will resolve your problem.
Resolved mine !
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
As per the first response, then go to classes. I've been doing pilates 2/3 times a week for the last 4 years and I can't begin to tell you how beneficial it is. What's great is that I don't even need to keep it as my 'secret' as the vast majority of my 'competitors' write it off for being 'girly' and so despite asking how I've managed to get so much stronger/faster just ignore the honest answer.

I do use a guide when I'm away travelling for a week, to self manage some sessions, but even after this long then I notice the difference between the PT sessions, group (max 4) classes and at home, with that order being of decreasing effectiveness/after session fatigue.

I've been to 3 studios in that time, all were good in different ways, and whilst it may sound counter intuitive then if you can find a 'classic pilates method' studio that uses 'reformer' (basically sliding bed type things) you are on a winner. There are other studios that add weights, and so a bit of cardio but I would avoid those as you're doing enough of that elsewhere, it reduces the proportion of time working on strength and form.