Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

need fit help for cyclocross bike
Quote | Reply
So I'm considering the following bikes but none are rideable so I am looking for an outside opinion on appropriate frame sizes.
All measurements are in inches and follow competitive cyclist website for how to measure the following.

actual Inseam: 33.75
Trunk: 25.75
Forearm: 13.75
Arm: 25.5
Thigh: 23.25
Lower leg: 21.875
Sternal notch: 57
Total Height: 70.125

Bikes I'm interested in:

1. 2018 Focus Mares
2. 2017 Moots Psychlo X
3. 2018 Canyon Inflite

Both the Focus and Moots I can find in a 56cm frame.
Canyon website says Medium frame - none in stock.

for what its worth, I currently ride a 2009 Cervelo S1 56cm and a 2012 Cervelo P2 54cm.
Thanks in advance.
Quote Reply
Re: need fit help for cyclocross bike [KONO] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm no fit expert, but one thing I notice between my road bike and my CX bike is that I prefer to have less drop between saddle and bars (maybe an inch and a half less), and I also have my saddle about 4-5 mm lower as compared to the BB.

Higher bars and having less weight on the front end makes it easier to go down some steeper descents. A slightly lower saddle allows me to better shift my weight around on descents and corners and generally unweight myself from the saddle when going over bumpier terrain. Also makes it a tad bit easier to flying mount back after the barriers when the bars are a little higher and the saddle is a little lower. Not a big deal on the first couple of laps...but near the end of races and I'm gassed...my flying mount suffers.

Again...no fit expert. I tried to mimic my road position when I first got the bike, but found myself adding spacers under the bars and lowering the saddle. YMMV
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm 5'8" with 32"(ish) inseam. I ride a 54cm Focus Mares.
I'm pretty sure a 56cm would fit you fine.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply