Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

hed 3 wobble after installing cassette
Quote | Reply
I am new to working on my own bike and I have hit a problem with my rear wheel.
I bought a Hed 3 tri spoke rear wheel (clincher) off of eBay. The wheel came without a cassette.
I put a Shimano Ultegra HG CS-6500 9-speed on the wheel. The shifters are Shimano Dura Ace bar-end and the derailleurs are Shimano Ultegra. I used the skewer from my Mavic Ksyrium Elite rear wheel.

When I put the Hed on my bike, it looks like the cassette and chain wobbles when turning the pedals. The wheel itself doesn't wobble (the distance between the brake pads and wheel doesn't change).

Is the wobble normal? Have I installed the cassette wrong? Is the cassette incompatible with the shifters/derailleurs? Bad wheel?

Thanks in advance.

--I found this from a previous post hed 3 post---
Once that 'perfect cass body position' has been tampered with, as in the case of replacing the bearings, then it needs to be refound.

This is a simple procedure.
Remove the axle, and the the cass body. you'll see that the cass body, where it joins the wheel hub, has 10 teeth type splines on an inverted position. All you have to do is replace the cass body, in a different position than when you took it off. Replacing the axle each time, you will eventually get it right.
---end previous post---
Quote Reply
Re: hed 3 wobble after installing cassette [Ediconex] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Lots of threads here about that. It's normal and a consequence of how the hub/axle is centered.

http://irondad06.blogspot.com/

http://irondad.blogspot.com/

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Sounds like my HED disc. I just assumed that that was normal since it is pretty difficult to center the hub in 3 dimensions.