Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

clinchers, tub, butted DT straight pull... What's it all mean?
Quote | Reply
I'm new to the sport and to the world of wheel terminology. My old road bike has wheels with rims, tires, and tobes inside the tires. When I get a flat, I just find the sharp object, remove it, and change the tube. I just found out that this isn't how all wheels work.

What's a clincher?

If a wheel is a glue-up, can it be changed to just put a tub inside and a tire around it?

Where is the air nozzle in the tri spoke? How do you put more air in the tires?

If I'm doing an ironman, what's the best wheel and tire to get? I figured on carrying 1 or 2 tubes, not complete tires with glue on them.

Any help would be really appreciated. I'm completely clueless about this stuff.
Quote Reply
Re: clinchers, tub, butted DT straight pull... What's it all mean? [trirookie] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
A clincher is the type of wheel that you just described. It has a tube inside.

With a tubular wheel there is no inner tube and the tire is glued to the rim.

All the technical information about bicycle wheels you'll ever need is is on this site:

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/wheelbuild.html
Quote Reply
Re: clinchers, tub, butted DT straight pull... What's it all mean? [trirookie] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Clinchers are the type of tires that you have. They have the tube and the tire separate and the tire hooks onto the rim when you install it.

Tubulars are also salled sew-ups, because the tube is sewn-up (usually) inside a complete tire casing. This is then glued onto a rim and that rim is smooth, unlike a clincher rim.

Tubular-clinchers are another type of tire made by Tufo which are like tubulars with the hooks so they go on clincher rims.

Tri-spokes have a cutout in one of the spokes on one side where the valve is.

The best wheel/tire for an Ironman is a topic of endless debate, especially on here.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply