Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Zwift Power offline UPDATE
Quote | Reply
Has anyone heard when Zwift Power will be back online for race results? Any idea if races during this period will appear once the site is back up and working. I'm really disappointed in how long this has been going on. I work in IT and we spent a significant amount of time preparing for GDPR before the law went into effect last month. Were several weeks into this and I'm surprised they haven't gotten things worked out yet.
Last edited by: velocomp: Jul 5, 18 16:18
Quote Reply
Re: Zwift Power offline [velocomp] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
As far as I know, it's not in ZwiftPower's hands. Zwift has some work to do to get their API to work with outside parties while remaining in compliance with GDPR.

That's a bunch of jargon I don't understand, but it's what James Hodges (owner/developer of ZP) told me.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Most of these third-party community sites that are now offline were founded on using data they really didn't have the right to access and republish in the first place. It was against T&C from day one.... so... while there's been a ton of great work done, and they're a valuable resource, at the end of the day the data wasn't theirs to use and more importantly - republish. There may have been a handshake agreement, or green light from Zwift to snoop logs, reverse engineer the webcalls from their apps, and whatever else they were doing - It was never a sure-thing without an official API and data agreements that was communicated to all users of the service/game/platform.

Just my 2c. It's a tricky one on all sides.

Shane Miller - GPLama
YouTube | Web | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook | Strava
Quote Reply
Re: Zwift Power offline [gplama] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
gplama wrote: