Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

When does one ready for a coach?
Quote | Reply
I posted this on cruciblefitness.com....

I am new to triathlons, having done 4 sprints since last December. I have a swim coach, who is also a triathlete and gives me informal tips on training. I have read voluminous amounts on training. I am 45 year old mom and attorney whose schedule is sometimes not controlled by me. I had no background in any of the disciplines. I had a moderate level of fitness from a weight training and some cardio. I had not been swimming in 30 years, on a bike in just about that long and had never really run.

Am I a candidate for coaching? Or should I wait another year or 2 and build up more fitness? I am beyond back of the pack, I generally finish before the elderly and the infirm!

Any thoughts?? It's all so confusing...

Quote Reply
Re: When does one ready for a coach? [tricheermom] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Beginners in any/most sports are perhaps one of the most important groups to seek professional coaches. Typically least experienced and lower level of knowledge specific to the sport and training for it.

A good coach will take out all the confusion for you.

A good coach will assist you in building fitness with sound technique so that as you progress you can do so safely from both a health and injury prevention point of view.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Sure, if you can afford it, go for it.

---------------------------------------------------------

"What the mind can conceive and believe, the mind and body can achieve; and those who stay will be champions."
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply