Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
When Do you Take Coke/Redbull During a race?
Quote | Reply
If at all, when do you grab it?
Every aid station?
When ish hits the fan?
Bonk city?
Or mixture of all.
Quote Reply
Re: When Do you Take Coke/Redbull During a race? [swim_corey_run] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Only ever done it once. about 17kms from the end of an 85km ultra. Big mistake and still not sure why I did it. Felt great for about 5kms then had a massive crash.

Realised then, why I'd never done it in the past. Although, perhaps I just need to sort the timing out.

Trust me I’m a doctor!
Well, I have a PhD :-)
Quote Reply
Re: When Do you Take Coke/Redbull During a race? [swim_corey_run] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Some rules:
  1. Once taken, continue to take.
  2. Dilute the fizz
  3. Monotonically increasing volume

So if you take either at the first running aid station you've got to continue for the rest of the run; add water before drinking and make sure you have at least as much as you've had at the previous aid station.

I jump on the red-robot in the run when my legs start to feel a bit shaky or my pace drops below 4:30/km in the previous km.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
All throughout the run. I would do it on the bike, too, if they had it at aid stations.

Coach at TriForce Triathlon Team: https://www.triforceteam.com
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
swim_corey_run wrote:
If at all, when do you grab it?
Every aid station?
When ish hits the fan?
Bonk city?
Or mixture of all.

I never take red bull, too much caffeine.

I take coke whenever it is offered, but I don't see coke being offered very often.

One year at Timberman, some random person handed me a coke and it was awesome.