Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Wheel lifespan?
Quote | Reply
I'm running a pair of 9 year old Spinergy Rev-X on my Slingshot. I've never had any negative issues with them and they've carried me over lots of miles. But 9 years old is just that. Can you offer any thoughts on whether I can keep going with them or do they need to be replaced?.

Train hard...race well.
www.jimmishler.com
"Jim, I happen to agree with you" DougStern
Quote Reply
Re: Wheel lifespan? [Jim Mishler] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I had a pair of those for just about the same time frame as you---until UPS bent the front wheel in shipping to Kona. Until then they were absolutely bulletproof, though I was pretty religious about checking them thoroughly before and after each ride. No issues whatsoever, even with some of the horror stories floating around about Spinergy in general.

As to your question, I'm no expert, but if they are still working for you, are not showing any visible signs of cracking or otherwise wearing, I would say keep on 'em, though the choices in wheelsets has greatly increased since you and I bought these wheels and you might find yourself a better choice for not a lot of money. Some of the bike- and tri-shop owners might weigh in on some of the pros and cons of continuing to ride on these wheels. If you have a trusted mechanic that will give you the straight scoop on the real condition of your current wheels, go there first and make your decision based on that feedback.
Quote Reply
Re: Wheel lifespan? [Mike C] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
don't know about spinergy but I have a Zipp front that is from 1994. Still has the original carbon hub and still is true. Lighter than the 2003 zipp front wheels to boot.

Brian Stover USAT LII
Accelerate3 Coaching
Insta

Quote Reply
Re: Wheel lifespan? [Mike C] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply