Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: What's your best piece of IM advice for negative self-talk? [Boyt959] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
First of all I can relate, but like most of the posts above this one, just try and have a positive mindset through seeing the positives. I always write a + on my right hand and a - on my left one with a black marker. With this (particularly on the bike) I categorize all my thoughts and when a negative one comes around, I throw it in the '- trashcan' and lose the thought. I'll be looking at the + alot at some points and just smile and enjoy. May sound weird but it works (for me). Currently researching something similar as i'm a sportpsychology student. Besides that I've got the mantra running through my head saying 'focus + relaxation = performance', which makes me worry less and focus on the plan.
Quote Reply
Re: What's your best piece of IM advice for negative self-talk? [jkhayc] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
jkhayc wrote:
One of the things I admire most about athletes that are successful at the IM distance is that they are really, really good at convincing themselves that feeling bad or shitty doesn't really matter and that they'll pull through it and come out the other side.

Historically, I'm not good at that. It's a big reason I haven't been particularly "successful" at that distance. When things start to go poorly or slide backwards a bit (which they inevitably do in a long day) I am good at letting those thoughts/feelings build and not coming back from that. Mentally weak, I am.

When you feel those things, what do you tell yourself? How do you come out of the metaphorical "valley?"

content and hopeful, content and hopeful, content and hopeful, content and hopeful...

Or, measure the process, not the results. Your time will be what your time will be. Stay in your little box... observe orient decide act.

Eric Reid AeroFit | Instagram Portfolio
Aerodynamic Retul Bike Fitting