Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

What's the best inner tubes?
Quote | Reply
May sound like a really dumb question but I'm a newbie on this since I've always been a tubular guy.

Finally broke down and bought a pair of clincher wheels for the road bike. Did my research for the most "bang for the buck" and decided on Neuvatron A28 Aero wheels and Veloflex Pave tires. But I can't find much on inner tubes.

I want durability, light weight and ability to hold air, realizing that some compromises may have to be made to get all three.

Any suggestions from you clincher folks? Thanks in advance.
Quote Reply
Re: What's the best inner tubes? [cerveloguy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
well, for general training and most racing just go to your local bike shop and pick up whatever the normal tubes they have there are. You can go with super light tubes (ie super thin & easier to flat) or latex (super light, kinda flat resistant, but you gotta pump them up daily) but they are more race only and even then a lot of people still use standard tubes to race on. I'm pretty sure you'll get the same answer from anyone else who answers your post.

Make sure when you buy your tubes that the valve length is long enough, I think the Nuevations need at least a 48mm valve on the tube. You can go 60mm but that's probably overkill and may throw off the balance a bit. sprinkle baby powder in the tire first, or better yet take a gallon ziplock bag, unroll new tubes and place in bag, sprinkle liberally with baby powder, seal bag and shake. Just keep the bag around with the left over powder for next time.

Man, I was kicking myself recently after passing up some of those Nuevations at Wildflower. The owner had shipped a bunch of sets in and didn't want to take them back so he was offering some scary scary prices on them. Nice wheels, good choice.
Quote Reply
Re: What's the best inner tubes? [Tai] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Tai,