Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Weird question
Quote | Reply
Does anyone have any literature on how lactation affects athletic performance? I can find a whole lot of stuff about how exercise affects lactation, but not the other way 'round. The reason I'm asking is, I'm starting to try and get back into shape after taking a year off to have a baby. I've been running for 3 months now, but am still extremely slow at the appropriate HR for aerobic effort. I've additionally moved from sea level to 8,000 ft and been here for 1 month (even MORE pathetically slow).

So I've got 2 strikes against me right now as I see it: I'm still nursing full time plus trying to get acclimated. I'm just really interested in how nursing and all the attendant hormones associated with it might affect my athletic performance.

Apologies in advance to the guys, but I figure if we gals can stand 'erection during massage' posts, you can stand a post on breast feeding. ;)

Re: Weird question [CrashingGirl] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Are you sure it's the lactation specifically that's affecting you? I would think taking a year off by itself, not to mention having a baby and mocving to a higher altitude would make someone slower.

I've heard that lactation can blunt the stress response (corticosteroids) in animals, but I'm not sure that would explain any changes in exercise performance.

My wife is breast feeding our two month old, and I do not know about you, but her performance went in the crapper. She is just starting over with her training, everything is a struggle for her, on top of that she has low blood pressure. I had to take her into the doctors yesterday because she was dizzy and fainting, her blood pressure was 90 over 50.