Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Weight loss and bonking
Quote | Reply
Somebody posted last week asking for the top 3 ways to lose 15 pounds in 3 weeks. Outside of wraping your self in plastic wrap and sleeping in a sauna, you're hosed. The only way to lose weight is to eat less calories than you burn off. No fad diet or ab cruncher. My question is how many calories is too few? How to manage weight loss and still have enough gas to make it through the long training runs and bikes?

Thoughts?
Quote Reply
Re: Weight loss and bonking [cbmiller] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Every book I've ever read about weight loss say's between 250 - 500 Calories per day will equate to a 1/2 - 1# weekly loss. I've read anything over 2# weekly is cutting into muscle, rather then just fat. Personally, I've been training for 20 months. When I started I decieded I wouldn't "diet" for it seemed as though everytime I would start new athletic endevours and diet, I ended up injured. While I still have an extra 15# of fat to lose, I have lost about 12-15 pounds over the past 20 months which I believe equates to more fat with a little gain in muscle.

I figure if it took 8 years to put on the wieght it's not coming off overnight. Patience is a virtue.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply