Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Ultrasound machine - is it any good?
Quote | Reply
I'm an electronic engineer and recently came across an advertisement on the web for an at-home Ultrasound machine.
From an engineering viewpoint, this is totally feasible. Ultrasound machines are now old technology, they are also "low-tech". All of which means that I see no reason why they should not be manufactured relatively cheaply in quantity.
Any of you medical types know whether this machine is any good?
Note: I cannot afford to keep going to physio.
Quote Reply
Re: Ultrasound machine - is it any good? [sidelined] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
i asked my friend who is a Physio the same thing, he said "yeah you can jsut stick those anywhere, that is why i was in school for 7 years". I never laughed so hard with him...........

needless to say i did not buy.

t~
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Ultrasound therapy has been around a long time but it's still the gold standard by which other treatment modalities are compared.

New medical ultrasound machines can still be quite expensive because they have added a lot of bells & whistle newer electronics. I don't know anything about this particular home version you mention.

You could probably find an older working unit on ebay.
Quote Reply
Re: Ultrasound machine - is it any good? [cerveloguy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I forgot to include the link to the machine. it is here

http://www.aidmytendon.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=home.ultrasound

and, yes, I know what a physio would say. They also charge you for applying an ice pack!

Sorry,but it is true.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
A friend of mine in the medical field said ultrasound is for physio's when they don't know how to fix the problem, and they hope it will go away, kind of like icing it or taking an aspirin.

You want to avoid putting the ultrasound on joints (not sure why but that is what he said).