Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Two races in one weekend, any advice?
Quote | Reply
I'm signing up for a race weekend next year that will involve a standard distance race on Saturday and a half-ironman on Sunday. I'm new to racing back-to-back like that and am looking for some advice from those of you who have done this successfully. Specifically:

1. Should I alter my nutrition during the race on Saturday, or is there no need to over-think it?
2. What did you do between races to recover and prepare for the second race?
3. Is there anything you did in training that helped with this sort of double-peak?
4. Did you do hard back-to-back days in training to get used to it? If you did, how many of that sort of simulation?
5. What pitfalls are there that I should look out for?
6. Is it possible to race "all-out" on both days like this or is it better to choose one race as the priority and be prepared to cruise through the other one?
7. Any other useful advice is really appreciated.
Quote Reply
Re: Two races in one weekend, any advice? [samtridad] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
First off, what are your goals? Like AG podium, beat a buddy, etc?

That will have a lot to do with any advice given. OF course you can go all out on both, but the 2nd one will be slower at that all out pace. Will chime in on the other questions once I know your goals. I have done this many times over the years, even did 5 race days in a row recently, but not all triathlons...
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
one thing i'll say about point (1). something i learned from stage racing is that you have to fuel for the long game. so, even though you're near the finish of the run in the standard-distance race on saturday, you're going to keep fueling right through the finish line. being a bit sore is one thing, but as much as possible we want to avoid you being depleted on sunday.