Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Triathlon and martial arts
Quote | Reply
MOP AG'er planning on racing several HIM's this season. Son is doing jiu jitsu, and I'm thinking of joining him. Obviously there are risks. Any other triathletes doing martial arts? Specifically worried about neck and back disk herniations.
Quote Reply
Re: Triathlon and martial arts [vomer] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
If anything it'll probably make you better. You'll increase your flexibility and a lot of core strength. Like everything else, just don't go too hard too fast and you should be fine.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
vomer wrote:
MOP AG'er planning on racing several HIM's this season. Son is doing jiu jitsu, and I'm thinking of joining him. Obviously there are risks. Any other triathletes doing martial arts? Specifically worried about neck and back disk herniations.

I've been doing martial arts for close to 30 years now, and triathlons off and on for about the same time, and I know more triathletes with back problems than I do martial artists.

You are much more likely to have other injuries than herniations, especially at the level that you will likely be starting at. As long as your training partners aren't gung ho idiots out to prove themselves, the training should be paced for your ability.

Enjoy it, and have fun training with your son!

John

Top notch coaching: Francois and Accelerate3 | Follow on Twitter: LifetimeAthlete |
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
vomer wrote: