Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Tri vs Road Many Conflicting Views
Quote | Reply
Hello to all,

Please pardon the Newbie question, but I have searched old posts and have not found an adiquite answer.

I am new to Tri's and want to purchase a new bike. I am a detail person and have done LOTS of research to know the bike lingo and understand what I am gettin for my hard earned dollar. This was the easy part. Now I am confronted by two major forks in the road: Geometry and Price.

I have quickly learned to spot cyclist over Triathlete as soon as they start to sell me a bike. The former sell me a road bike with aero bars and the latter argue for the superior form and function of a Tri bike.

As for price, I believe in buying things right, and if possible, once. I have been told that the land of the $ 1,000 bike is filled with junk, and I should pony up an extra few hundred to get a bike that I will be pleased with for many years to come.

I also understand the pit falls of test rides and the virtue of a "fitted" bike. My only problem with that is that the LBS's I have gone to do one or the other. Since they have limited brands that don't overlap it is impossible for me to compare bikes.

Any and all ad vice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time. - Fight Club
Industry Brat.
Quote Reply
Post deleted by Administrator [ In reply to ]
Re: Tri vs Road Many Conflicting Views [bigsky17] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I'm assuming with a name like "bigsky" you might be from Montana. If so I would suggest corrosponding with Carl Strong of Strong Cycles in Bozeman. They custom build some nice frames for a very resonable price and seem very knowledgable on fitting/filling the needs of their customer.
Jay

Jay
Quote Reply
Re: Tri vs Road Many Conflicting Views [ridesign] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To: