Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Training Help: Hip Flexors
Quote | Reply
After three months of imposed layoff, I began cycling again. After two months back at it, I had the first effort that felt strong. However, dropping into the aero is sapping my power, and I know it is weak hip flexors.

Would these be best re-developed by high spins in aero or by just continuing to ride, and dropping into aero more often? Or what other suggestions might you have?
Quote Reply
Re: Training Help: Hip Flexors [Monk] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Powercranks.

Or forward lunges.

----------------------------------------------------
Striving to have sex more than 66 times per year
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm no expert, but some coaches more knowledgeable than I recommend one-leg drills. some lower rpm with higher resistance and some higher rpm, lower resistance. I do them in aero until I'm failing, then immediately up to my bullhorns and finally on the bars until I can't lift any more. I do the slower ones 2 sets each leg of 3-5 minutes each and the faster ones for less time but more sets. Frank Day would tell you to get PC's. One guy I rode with said his previous coach had them ride for miles with one leg, then miles with the other. I also try to do a lot of my climbing concentrating on lifting my knees.

I'm curious to see what some of the coached here recommend.

Take everything I say with a grain of salt. I know nothing.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
PCs.

------------------------------------------------------------
Any run that doesn't include pooping in someone's front yard is a win.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
There's a free option, too.

There are some incredible isometric hip flexor exercises you can do on your own. I don't know of a link offhand, but there's a lot you can do with some free floorspace and just yourself.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Rotary hip machine is good. Theracrunch ab-bench is good.