Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Track running PB
Quote | Reply
What is your best time for 1500m on track? I am a high school teacher and one of my kids (17 YO male) is running 4'40"xx regularly. Is that decent?
Last edited by: Pmswanepoel: Aug 15, 19 5:32
Quote Reply
Re: Track running PB [Pmswanepoel] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Pmswanepoel wrote:
What is your best time for 1500m on track? I am a high school teacher and one of my kids (17 YO) is running 4'40"xx regularly. Is that decent?

Well we have 10/11 year old boys running those times. Grace Ping, 13 year old girl, runs a similar pace for 5000m. It's solid, but he'd not going to representing his state or anything.
Quote Reply
Re: Track running PB [zedzded] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
That’s decent for a high schooler- probably equal to a 5::00 mile. I ran 3:51 while in college. Would be fun to take another crack at it

USAT Level II- Ironman U Certified Coach
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Assuming your 17yo is a male. It is decent, but not enough to really advance you out of a regional qualifier. Sounds like good potenial

Inside The Big Ring: Podcast & Coaching

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Our letter time I high school for the 1600 was 4:45 (converts to a ~4:25 in the 1500). To get to state (in the division I ran in Montana) you would have to run at least a 4:30-4:35 (4:11.5-4:16 in the 1500) to get to state in the 1600.

I was a 400/800 guy in high school and just ran the 1600 one time (4:37 so a would’ve been ~4:18 in the 1500)

Matt
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
4:40 shows some promise if they keep working at it and are able to progress so encourage them. But right now for a 17yo boy a 4:40 won't get them very far.
At 17 I was running between 4:01 and 4:05 for 1500 on the track and by 18 my last year of HS I was running 3:52

Mike Plumb, TriPower MultiSports
Professional Running, Cycling and Multisport Coaching, F.I.S.T. Certified
http://www.tripower.org
Quote Reply