Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Thinking of trying Hoka
Quote | Reply
What you recommend for a starter Hoka shoe? I have been using a rotation of On Running, Skechers GoRun and Nike and I am looking to try a Hoka that isn't excessively cushioned with no more than 8mm drop hopefully for tempo runs. I have no problem buying an older model. Any recommendations?

"see the world as it is not as you want it to be"
Quote Reply
Re: Thinking of trying Hoka [TizzleDK] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I like the Rincon, I think it's 5mm? It's also a little cheaper than some of their other models, so while I've read people don't think it last as long as some, it can also be found for around $100. I used to wear the Clifton but I prefer the Rincon now.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I've been running in the Cavu's for a couple years now and like them. They're less cushioned than many of the other Hoka's so you may want to take a look at those. I'm looking for something with a bit more cushioning so I"m planning to give the RIncon a try next.
Quote Reply
Re: Thinking of trying Hoka [txtyree] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Do they fit true to size?

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I’d say yes, I get the same size I buy for most brands.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
thank

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Moved from Asics Nimbus to Clifton for training and Rincon for racing.

Personally, I find the change really natural however the Rincon is half a size bigger than the Clifton!!
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I rolled the dice with the Hoka Gaviotas and lost. They felt good in the running shop. I even ran in them for a few minutes on their treadmill. There's nothing like a road test and they just don't work for me so I use them on my maintenance runs. It was an expensive gamble and makes me apprehensive to try new running shoes.
Last edited by: Alex M: Mar 20, 20 15:23
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
txtyree wrote: