Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
TREK Speed Concept vs Premier Tactical 2.0
Quote | Reply
Im a new Triathlete and stuck on which bike to get. I am already committed to a (2) Sprints (escape the cape),an Olympic and a Half Ironman (Atlantic City). Ive hired a coach and following a training plan religiously. If all goes well, I plan on trying a full IM in 2020. Im not young (45) but Ive always been athletic. I was a college Decathlete (very long time ago) and after a break from any running, Ive been an avid runner for the last 10+ years, but now Im finally jumping into this world. My goal isnt to win anything...but Im a competitive person by nature and I have what I consider to be "respectable" goals for each race (probably not respectable by many standards.....but its my first year and I like having goals!)

Anyway - Im not someone to stick my toe in....I usually jump in full to anything I commit to. I have a Cyclocross bike that Ive been using for a few years, but Im going to buy a decent TRI bike in the next week. I was originally set on a TREK SC (new) but intrigued by the Premier after a local race director mentioned that I should consider one.

Im being professionally fit for a bike this week and the fitter is 100% on board with the SC (partially because the store sells trek, but its not a TREK only store). He said that he is 100% confident that he can get a great fit on the TREK and that the TREK is a more flexible bike from a fit standpoint. He had concerns about getting a good fit on the Tactical, parts availability, crash test data....etc...and a whole bunch of things that Im not sure that I understand...or care about. Tactical seems to have great reviews, great service and better wheels as standard.