Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

T1 Wetsuit debate...
Quote | Reply
I have been surfing for 25 years and have seen the wetsuit market change drastically. Besides the quality of neoprene getting better.... One of the best changes was the zipless wetsuit. The freedom in these suits is drastically different for a paddler. Most surfing suits are now made zipperless or 1/4 zips.

So my question is... Can this be the case with a swimming wetsuit (De Soto T1)? How does this suit compare to a QR superfull? Is the zipperless suit the wave of the future?
Quote Reply
Re: T1 Wetsuit debate... [swimfast] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I agree with you. Zipperless is better in my pinion, but is not for everyone.

Tom Demerly
The Tri Shop.com
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
1 zipper, 2 zipper or zipperless wetsuits all can have their purpose... They each have different advantagees and disadvantages. Your post incinuates that only one wetsuit is needed. IMO, This is not true if you want the maximum application of the various wetsuit designs.

Provide they all fit (and that is absolutely crucial and "the" priority), the two extreme designs - 2 zipper and zipperless wetsuits - provide opposite characteristics.

In the case of the 2 zipper, it provides the easiest and fastest removal among all wetsuit designs. While the T1 without zipper is the hardest and not as fast as the 2 zipper design to remove. However, in terms of comfort, the zipperless and two piece design is the most comfortable. While the Piel 2 zippered design is the least comfortable.

As a result, the perfect combination use of wetsuit would be:

For long course triathlons - zipperless wetsuit.

For short course triathlons - 2 zipper designed wetsuits.

BTW, there is a more universally useful designs - it's the partial zipperred T1. I seems to provide a good middleground.

Currently (and for the past 3 yrs), I use this combination:

T1 for Long courses