Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Sub 3-hour marathon?
Quote | Reply
Anybody know what percentage of the Marathon-population actually runs sub 3-hours? I'm guessing between 5-10%.

The recent NY Times article on Ed Whitlock got me thinking about this question. As a physical therapist I am constantly hearing people say "Guess it's my age" or "Maybe I'm just too old for this kind of activity". That is one of my biggest pet peeves, especially when it is perpetuated by other health care providers.

This Ed Whitlock story is a great one, along with the 89-year old mt biker up in Mammoth which was highlighted in the latest issue of Bicycling.

Dan Hollingsworth

Nobody grows old by merely living a number of years. People grow old only by deserting their ideals. Years may wrinkle the skin, but to give up interest wrinkles the soul." - Douglas MacArthur
Quote Reply
Re: Sub 3-hour marathon? [hollidan] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
5% in the US
95% in Kenya
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I just calculated that approximately 1.3% of the finishers of the 2004 New York City Marathon finished in under three hours. This percentage would obviously vary from race to race, but I suspect not by too much.

Regards,

Matt
Quote Reply
Re: Sub 3-hour marathon? [Harkin Banks] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Go back to the 1970s in NYC and you will find nearly 10% going under 3 hours.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
10% - You've got to be kidding. I would say it is less than 1%. I would bet that of all the posters on slowtwitch less than 5% have run under a 3 hour marathon.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
2.4% at the 2004 Twin Cities Marathon.
Quote Reply
Re: Sub 3-hour marathon? [ajfranke] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
While I will agree that a higher percentage went under 3 hours many years ago I think it is a faulty comparison. The "marathon boom" has brought many more people to the back end of the marathon than the front end.