Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Smart trainers, worth it?
Quote | Reply
Wife is using my trainer more and more so is time to get another one, I have a kinetic road machine which I plan on letting her keep, I have been considering getting a smart trainer for some time, is it worth it?. The added benefit that appeals the most to me is the controlled resistance to interact with the virtual courses and workouts, I think it may make the time on the trainer less boring.
Quote Reply
Re: Smart trainers, worth it? [Art M.] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
only you can decide if it s worthy.

if you already have a powermeter, it wont bring anything new to your training? If you like zwift like many of my age group or pro, changing gear on a dumb trainer work very well to simulate course changes as you ride.

as a coach, i dont really recommend them to someone with a powermeter. but i have nothing against them if you want something new and more toys!

Jonathan Caron / Professional Coach / ironman champions / age group world champions
Jonnyo Coaching
Instargram
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Smart trainers are different to just having a powermeter and I prefer TrainerRoad with the smart trainer controlling power.

I upgraded a Kurt Kinetic RnR with a Smart Control unit, mainly so I could have my powermeter on my road bike and set my tri bike up on the trainer full time. I'm very pleased with the setup, although I would have like ANT+ from the KK Smart Control unit.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Smart trainers are a motivation tool. That's it. If you are already training properly and with a power meter, nothing will change. Frankly, I think they have more potential to interfere with proper training for those I coach, than they do to enhance it.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply