Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Sleeveless wetsuit - help/advice needed
Quote | Reply
Hi,

First, some background. I have been using wetsuits for about 5 years in triathlon. I have tried multiple, also during test sessions, but I keep having shoulder pain/fatigue during swimming. I come from a swimming background and much of my speed is contributed by good technique with shoulder flexibility.

Therefore I am thinking of buying a sleeveless wetsuit. My current wetsuit is already very flexible. I might step it up a notch to even more flexibility with a better suit, but such a wetsuit will set me back 700-900 dollars which is just insane. No matter how flexible, it will always hinder arm movement ever so slightly. A sleeveless wetsuit seems to offer all the freedom of a very expensive suit, for a price of only about 200 dollars.

Of course, it has some disadvantages:
- less cold protection > this worries me the most, but I think for the races/training I do it will be sufficient
- less bouyancy > does not really seem a problem to me, why would you need it in your arms anyway

It would be great if you can help me with:
- What are your experiences with sleeveless suits?
- What suit did you buy and why?
- What differences are there between cheap and expensive sleeveless suits? It seems to me the flexible neoprene in the shoulder area drives much of the cost, but a sleeveless doesnt have this.
Last edited by: Timmetje: Jun 1, 17 5:19
Quote Reply
Re: Sleeveless wetsuit - help/advice needed [Timmetje] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I agree about sleeveless - even though people say it's slower, my two fastest ironman swim splits were set using a sleeveless Roka suit, so it can't be that slow. The only downside is cold. For 2000m or so, should be ok, but for 3800m in cold water, you could run into trouble.