Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: Show me your 1 X ?? build [Tri_Joeri] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Tri_Joeri wrote:
Thanks! What kind of shift ramp do you mean that was giving you issues? I didn't see any issues in the jumps I'm going to have since on a mountainbike cassette you often have bigger (5 teeth) jumps in between gears but I'm a newb when it comes to 1x so I might be wrong.

You got a great explanation but I'll try and expand on it a bit. I was trying to piece together a 12-25 and 11-30 cassette to make a 12-30. If you look at a Shimano cassette the shifts ramps need to progress in a precise way to work properly. Someone told me that they pieced together a cassette and it worked ok with Di2, but I use mechanical and I definitely had an issue at the spot where I changed the pattern; in both directions as I recall. The only way I could get it to shift was to go two and back one. I just put this bike together recently though and the shifting isn't that great even with the regular cassette. Need to check the derailleur alignment....

I have 1x11 XT on an MTB and it shifts big jumps beautifully.
Quote Reply
Re: Show me your 1 X ?? build [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Heres my Giant Trinity, bought earlier this year. Immediately went 1x with a 52t Stone aero chainring. Haven't had any problems using a mechanical 11speed Ultegra mech. Looking to move to a 54t or more next year. Sorry for the weird picture (many sins committed), this was after I got it ready for my first ever sprint triathlon. Currently on a 11-30 cassette which came on the bike but I might get something that has a bit tighter spacing.

Last edited by: nversteege: Aug 28, 19 0:11
Quote Reply
Re: Show me your 1 X ?? build [BMANX] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply

SRAM Force1 1x11 shifting, E13 9-34 cassette, and an Absolute Black 44 tooth elliptical chainring on a Quarq crank with 170mm arms.

"When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro."