Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Recurring Nightmares
Quote | Reply
This has been going on for years now with very little variation. The dreams go like this…

I’ve been training for months and here I am … in whatever race I’ve been training for. At this point I’m just running and following everyone else. But then I sometimes take the lead. I’m thinking how great it is to be in the lead, but then the course isn’t clearly marked and I’m running on grass and sometimes through fields. I might fall into a mud puddle and think – "why the hell would they have me run through here with all this mud". Sometimes I am running across my college campus (I graduated 15 years ago!). I am still looking for the course, but then I see some other participants. I follow them and then we are running through stairwells in some strange building. I keep asking everyone if this is the right way to go and something doesn’t seem right, but I can’t put my finger on it. We come out on the roof of the building and then start climbing a high tower. Some people are on their way down from the tower, so I figure this is an out-and-back tower climb. When I get to the top I am terrified and freeze. Then a bunch of females pass me and get mad because I’m jamming up the tower. So I get to the top and turn around and swear I’m never doing any more races with a tower in it. So then there is usually some more running around lost through town, but I make it to a transition. I find my skateboard (yes – skateboard) and go to the mounting area with it. I see others getting on their skateboard (they’re sitting on it) and then they fly down a steep hill. I put my skateboard down and try to move, but the wheels are coming off the board and there is a bunch of gravel and dirt and my wheels won’t turn. This is where I usually throw a raging fit and smash my skateboard down on the ground screaming “goddammit!!! Why didn’t I train more on the skateboard! I swim… I run… why am I in