Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Recumbents and triathlons
Quote | Reply
Go easy on a tri-newbie here, but I have a question on using a recumbent in a triathlon. Even though I have yet to try a Tri, I'm a runner of 23+ years with 198 races under my belt, plus a handful of years in online forums, so flame if you must, but bewarned I come with my asbestos jacket ;)

Anyway, how do I know when I look at triathlon schedules or race literature which ones will allow me to use my recumbent. Aside from emailing race directors individually, is there a particular "USAT" distance that'll tell me, 'this is a certified, rules-bound event'?

I know some of the "hometown festival" type events that do not count toward part of a triathlon series or some I've seen have a "recumbent" category are okay to enter. I've been riding my 'bent for a year now and have not had a single mile that wasn't sheer joy. My back, butt, wrists, and neck are lovin' it.

thanks.
Quote Reply
Re: Recumbents and triathlons [jrjo] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I have never seen a recumbent at any triathlon. As far as I know, this is probably because they aren't allowed. That's just as well for the rest of us as recumbents tend to be faster than normal bicycles.

It probably varies from event to event, but there might be some tris that allow recumbents. Personally, I wouldn't have a problem with it as long as they ran in a separate catagory.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I remember reading somewhere that they are not permitted.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Nope, can't use it.

Tom Demerly
The Tri Shop.com
Quote Reply
not according to rule 5.11c [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply