Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Recommended Wheel choice in Kona
Quote | Reply
Hi,
This is my first time racing in Kona and quite nervous about the crosswinds out there and have basically no idea how extreme they can be.
I have a Hunt 7387 Carbon Disc Wheelset, Front 73 Deep/Rear 87 Deep. I'm 56kg/123 pounds.
Have good bike handling skills but can get nervous on the downhill with crosswinds. My only experience on winds is Lanzarote where I would have ridden on a Roval C38 wheelset.

Should I reconsider the Hunt wheelset and rather take my Roval C38 (38deep) to be on the safe side?
Thanks for any advice.
Quote Reply
Re: Recommended Wheel choice in Kona [CStrat] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
CStrat wrote:
Hi,
This is my first time racing in Kona and quite nervous about the crosswinds out there and have basically no idea how extreme they can be.
I have a Hunt 7387 Carbon Disc Wheelset, Front 73 Deep/Rear 87 Deep. I'm 56kg/123 pounds.
Have good bike handling skills but can get nervous on the downhill with crosswinds. My only experience on winds is Lanzarote where I would have ridden on a Roval C38 wheelset.

Should I reconsider the Hunt wheelset and rather take my Roval C38 (38deep) to be on the safe side?
Thanks for any advice.

take the 87 on the rear and the 38 on the front
Quote Reply
Re: Recommended Wheel choice in Kona [longtrousers] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
So Roval wheel C38 front and the Hunt 87 rear?
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I'm about your weight. Yeah definitely 38 in the front otherwise you have to hold on to the aero bars really tight during the entire ride. Learn how to lean into the crosswind. Always stay low, so you can lower the center of gravity too.
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
CStrat wrote:

That's what I would do
Quote Reply
Re: Recommended Wheel choice in Kona [longtrousers] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
longtrousers wrote:
CStrat wrote:

That's what I would do