Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
What's your best piece of IM advice for negative self-talk?
Quote | Reply
One of the things I admire most about athletes that are successful at the IM distance is that they are really, really good at convincing themselves that feeling bad or shitty doesn't really matter and that they'll pull through it and come out the other side.

Historically, I'm not good at that. It's a big reason I haven't been particularly "successful" at that distance. When things start to go poorly or slide backwards a bit (which they inevitably do in a long day) I am good at letting those thoughts/feelings build and not coming back from that. Mentally weak, I am.

When you feel those things, what do you tell yourself? How do you come out of the metaphorical "valley?"
Quote Reply
Re: What's your best piece of IM advice for negative self-talk? [jkhayc] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I just keep thinking I didn’t train 13-15 hours a week for several months to slow down and walk. Or I tell myself that it won’t hurt any less by slowing down. Or I tell myself that my family sacrificed too much in this process to slow down. Seemed to work pretty well in my first Ironman this year. The last couple hours were excruciating but I kept jogging.
Last edited by: gbc0005: Nov 20, 19 6:50
Quote Reply
Re: What's your best piece of IM advice for negative self-talk? [jkhayc] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I heard this somewhere
If you quit you will know, if you finish, everyone will know!

Think you need to suck it up princess. First little old man or lady to pass you should be enough incentive to snug up your manties. Most people I know train to finish. It’s tough sometimes but just keep moving. Mind is always stronger than the body. If you really need help, talk to every volunteer at every aid station and tell them what a great job they’re doing. There will be enough feedback to keep you going to the finish line.

Giterdun