Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
FOP: Getting a coach versus devoting significant time to studying s/b/r
Quote | Reply
I've been racing for seven years. I've seen moderate progression through being self coached (with Trainerroad and Barry P "plans"). My swim is atrocious and is keeping me out of contention for a lot of the races I do. Since I just finished my last race of the season and it's "post-season," and I'm driven to make big improvements this year:

Is $200/mo worth paying for a coach for a moderately fast self-coached athlete (4:20 half iron) or can I get the same results by buying a few books (Swim Speed Secrets, Jack Daniels's book, etc.) and really digesting the material and implementing it?

I have a 35 min non-wetsuit swim, and it's my biggest downfall. My run is moderately okay (6:45/mi off the bike) and my bike is definitely good enough (2:12 this past weekend), but to hang with the guys up front, I'll need to take off significant time from my swim and lower my run a bit.

@floathammerholdon | @partners_in_tri
Quote Reply
Re: FOP: Getting a coach versus devoting significant time to studying s/b/r [cloy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
I would encourage you to join a local Masters Swim Team over the winter. It works out to about $15/mo and will do wonders for your swim.

Dan Kennison

facebook: @triPremierBike
http://www.PremierBike.com
http://www.PositionOneSports.com
Quote Reply
Re: FOP: Getting a coach versus devoting significant time to studying s/b/r [cloy] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Nothing beats having a real life on-deck coach for the swim, the caveat being that they need to be a decent coach and engaged with you i.e. actually coaching. I've heard horror stories of masters coaches who subscribe to the "busywork" model of coaching, and the opposite end of "here's the workout on the board, go do it". you want someone who will engage.

Swimming Workout of the Day:

Favourite Swim Sets: