Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Pull Bouys for Novice?
Quote | Reply
For those who haven't read my previous whining, I'm a total novice swimmer. My position in the water is good -- i.e., I'm level. I can't yet manage a 2 beat kick. I get good roll. I struggle to get a high elbow recovery, and a good catch. I do better without fins or zoomers. Breathing is my limiter -- I lift my head sometimes, drink a lot of water, sometimes drop my offside hand, etc. Not horribly, and not always.

I'm wondering about the value of PBs. The topic has been briefly brought up in other threads. To date, I've shunned the notion of using any gear, instead preferring to learn it with the tools I'll have when it comes to event time... none. The one time I used a PB, my legs actually sank more because I couldn't kick.

Thoughts?

Too f@ckin depressed from various injuries to care about having a signature line.

Sponsored by Blue Shield PPO.
Quote Reply
Re: Pull Bouys for Novice? [Aztec] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Just becasue you are using a BP doesn't mean you can't kick. You're kick will be a bit weaker, but you can still do it, just flick your feet for that added boost. Either way i'd be willing to bet that your body position is the same or better with the PB than with out given the 2 beat kick. I say use it and use it a lot.

----------------------------------------------------------
I'm just a 10 cent rider on a $2,500.00 Bike

Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
Aztec, one of these days I'm buying you a plane ticket here, LOL. GET SOME DECENT COACHING!!!!

My take on pull buoys? Hate them :-)

-
"Yeah, no one likes a smartass, but we all like stars" - Thom Yorke

smartasscoach.tri-oeiras.com
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
I Ain't never seen anybody waddle into the water at a triathlon with any styrofoam twixt their thighs...

play like you practice...
Quote Reply
Re: Pull Bouys for Novice? [Cracker] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In Reply To: