Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Possible to go from casual age grouper to semi-elite in five months?
Quote | Reply
How much progress is possible in one triathlon season?

My Goal:
I'm looking to get a realistic sense of what kind of triathlon shape and subsequent Olympic triathlon time I can achieve by Age Group Nationals on August 9th. My stretch goal would be to qualify for Age Group Worlds by placing top 18 in my age group (M25-29). Last year, 18th place in Men's 25-29 finished the Olympic distance in 2 hours 11 minutes (~26 min swim, ~60 min bike [25 mph], ~40 min run [6:30 mile pace]).

My Fitness Today:
I have been training very inconsistently since mid-2017 (months on and months off). I'm about six weeks in to another stint of training (putting in about 6 hours per week after two months completely off), and will race a sprint in mid-April to gage where I'm at.

The only Olympic that I've ever raced was my first triathlon back in 2017. Total time was 2 hours 45 minutes with a 20 min swim, 85 min bike (17.5 mph), and 55 min run (8:50 pace). I have a swimming background and pushed pretty hard on that leg, but for the rest of the race I took it easy and walked at some point during every mile of that run.

I have done a handful of sprints since that Olympic, and do well on the swim, bike 18.5-20 mph depending on the course, and run between 7:30 and 8:00 minute miles again depending on the course and my fitness at that given time.

My Timeline:
I am headed to business school in the fall and will have the summer off to dedicate to rest, time with family and friends, some travel, and getting in the best shape possible.

The Question:
Can I go from a sprint bike pace of ~19 mph and sprint mile pace of ~7:45 to a 25 mph bike and 6:30 mile pace over five months? What times should I hope to put up at the sprint race in mid-April to feel like I am on-pace to achieve my goal?